Service award for Charter School


Students and Teachers Honored with Service Award

hoboken-charter-school-aware-jomarie-marin-and-ruby-ruiz.jpgEva’s Village, an anti-poverty program which addresses issues of hunger, homelessness, addiction and health care, has honored Hoboken Charter School teachers Hollie Karl and Deirdra Grode and the 2008 eighth grade class with the 2008 Service Award.

When Eva’s Village constructed its Hope Residence of St. Frances in Paterson, NJ to provide more women and children with vital services, an announcement was made requesting decorating teams to create an inviting and warm atmosphere. In the spring of 2008, Karl and Grode led their eighth grade students through a study of home and homelessness in their humanities course in preparation for the Hoboken Charter School’s school-wide service-learning event, Empty Bowls.

At the end of the unit, these eighth grade students designed rooms for women and children, used a grant they received from the Helen’s Hope Foundation to buy welcoming bedding, books, toys and decorations and wrote welcome letters to the incoming residents of the new facility. In April, they traveled to Paterson and were given a tour of the facility and then got to work setting up the rooms with the materials they brought. One of the student participants, Jomarie Marin, stated that “putting together the rooms with bedding and accessories was so exciting.” Classmate Ruby Ruiz added, “It was cool that we created a safe environment for someone who wouldn’t have that otherwise.”

On October 16, 2008, Karl, Grode, the 2008 eighth grade class and the other Hope Residence Decorating Teams received their awards at the Visions of Hope Benefit Gala at Mayfair Farms in West Orange, NJ. The Hope Residence of Saint Frances opened November 16, 2008 and houses and serves thirty woman and seventy children. Above the ten rooms the Hoboken Charter School students designed and decorated are placards which state: “Donated by the Hoboken Charter School Class of 2008.”

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!