Congrats Melissa Beyruti! {NCAA Basketball}

Melissa Beyruti of Hoboken Inducted into Kean University Athletic Hall of Fame

Melissa Beyruti of Hoboken, New Jersey, is one of seven former Kean University student-athletes who was inducted into the Benisch Athletic Hall of Fame on Thursday, April 20. Beyruti joins the ranks of the 124 student-athletes, coaches and administrators recognized for their commitment, both on and off the field, to Kean University and their respective sports, and who are already featured in the Benisch Athletic Hall of Fame.

Kean’s Benisch Athletics Hall of Fame was established to honor those men and women who have brought distinction to themselves and to the University through their participation in Kean Athletics.

“We are thrilled to add these standouts to our 20th Kean University Athletics Hall of Fame class,” said Jack McKiernan, director of Kean Athletics. “All seven of these extraordinary individuals had outstanding careers at Kean University and we are honored to welcome them to the Hall of Fame.”

Beyruti ’11 is no stranger to recognition for her athletic performance. She is Kean’s all-time leading scorer in women’s basketball, as well as a three-time MVP in the program, which landed three NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association) Elite 8 berths. Beyruti also won two D’Angola Awards and was mentioned seven times in the NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball Record Book. She was a part of three NJAC (New Jersey Athletic Conference) titles, was a three-time WBCA (Women’s Basketball Coaches Association) All-American and two-time All-American. Beyruti retired as the NCAA’s all-time leader in both three-pointers and games played.

The other 2017 inductees include: Pascal Clergio of Curitiba, Brazil; Johanna (Hedler) Grecco of Wood-Ridge; Ebony Jackson of Columbia, S.C.; Melissa (Nunez) Velez of Pequannock; Perry Schatzow of Ocean Township; and Jay Sgaramella of Middlesex.

Melissa Beyruti Hoboken NJ kean hall of fame

Pictured (left to right): Kean University’s 2017 Benisch Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees Jason Sgaramella, Johanna (Hedler) Grecco, Melissa (Nunez) Velez, Melissa Beyruti, Ebony Jackson and Perry Schatzow; not pictured, Pascal Clergio.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment